Foong Min Wong
2 min readMar 9, 2021

Matrix Bubble Chart in Power BI?

I have been exploring different Power BI built-in visuals and custom visuals from the App Source in the past few months. Sometimes, those visuals have their own limitations and are not able to generate your ideal data visualization. My manager recently introduced Matrix Bubble Chart to me.

Matrix Bubble Chart in Excel (Source)

Looking at the bubble chart, my first thought was: Can we produce this type of chart in Power BI? There are some possible solutions from the Power BI forum 💬 on creating a matrix bubble chart (Reference: Bubble Matrix, Conditional Formatting Scatter Chart, Using SVG in PBI, etc.). However, I find them not quite helpful to make a responsive bubble chart…

Here’re the things that I tried:

  • Transformed a scatter chart into a bubble chart, but categorical variables are not allowed on the y-axis.
  • Used a custom visual Dot Plot, but I couldn’t make “Month Year” to be shown on the x-axis. Limited customization on categorical labels.

I ended up with Python Visual by developing a Matplotlib chart that responds to slicer selections. Below contains a sample plot and code snippets:

My Matrix Bubble Chart using Matplotlib (Power BI Python Visual)

One limitation of using Python Visual in Power BI is that you cannot add tooltips. Another problem is the chart takes ages to load (It took more time to load when I used Seaborn to plot the chart.) Currently investigating the reasons causing the slow Python chart loading in Power BI Embedded…

Note: Please let me know if you know of any workable solutions to generate a responsive + fast-loading bubble matrix chart in Power BI🙏